MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

Media 100 or FCP

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
LandofNid
Media 100 or FCP
on Sep 10, 2007 at 7:45:07 pm

Greetings fellow cowheads!

Forgive please this is the continuation of my post from the FCP Forum. I only post it here because I would like to know what Media 100 editors think as well. Thanks for your time!

I should give you some background on myself. I am a professional Editor/DVD Author with 3 years experience under my belt. The production company I am employed by works primarily in critical high end to middle end broadcast commercials, and corporate video. In short we work on whatever pays the bills. It could be shooting for the web one day and crewing a documentary the next. We are known in our market by a very good reputation. Production company's call and refer customers to us when they're stuck because we are skilled, knowledgeable and critical minded.

When I first started editing in college it was on Software Media 100. My school soon jumped to Final Cut Pro. (It was much cheaper and the new trend in the industry at the time.) I have always viewed myself as an editor. I am not a Final Cut Pro editor. I am an editor. It doesn't matter which editing software; I will learn, find the strengths and weaknesses of a program and edit with it.

Now I am at a crossroads so to speak. I currently use FCS1 and I have been happily editing on Final Cut Pro 5.1.2 for the past 2 years. I have not updated to newer versions because I was in the middle of large projects and due to posts on the cow about bugs, and issues. (Thanks to everyone who posted about this!)

Now I am at a point where I would like to update some programs. I will be buying Adobe Aftereffects CS3. I currently own Photoshop CS2, and Illustrator CS2. I have been happy with Final Cut Pro 95% of the time. I realize it isn't perfect but there is no such thing as a perfect program.