MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

Complex Audio issue?..

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
jeremyR
Complex Audio issue?..
on Mar 16, 2007 at 5:33:10 pm

Or am I missing something easy? On my Media 100 HD I am cutting commercial spots for my TV station. Audio is pretty typical... News talent, voice over guy, sound from interviews and a drone music bed. I put it all together and my news talent voice gets lost in the mix... it's hard to hear. I increase his levels 4-6DBs to make it sound like the other levels... of coure now his levels are hotter than anything else. The control room here at my station is having trouble puuting the spot in their system because the levels of my news talent are so loud. I am by no means an audio pro... can somebody help me out?

Thanks
Jeremy

By the way, I am having this issue on every spot I produce!

Return to posts index

Floh
Re: Complex Audio issue?..
by
on Mar 16, 2007 at 5:49:06 pm

This sounds like you really need some audio advice. First thing is probably to apply a compressor to your talent audio clips. Most of the times it already helps a lot in its default settings. You can tweak the ratio and the Threshold to boost the voice even more.
And you should apply a limiter to your Master audio track to make sure that your levels don

Return to posts index

jeremyR
on Mar 16, 2007 at 7:21:50 pm

Thanks for the help Flow.
I am self taught, and unfortunatly I have not delved deep enough into audio.
I do not know what you mean by the built in limiter. If you mean the Audio window, I'm not sure if it has limiting capabilities. I can set the "Nominal Reference (dbFS)" to -9... but I don't think it will clip anything. I manually adjust the sliders up and down for each track, so the master track hits that reference point... but I have to increase the levels of the Talent vo's so their audible level is the same.