MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

HD to SD workflow & quality

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
SheeploveHD to SD workflow & quality
by on Mar 6, 2006 at 11:58:49 am

I have the opportunity of shooting on DVCPRO100 (AJ-HDX400) at 1080/50i, and will post on Media100HD. Mastering will be to DVCPRO50 SD. Should I opt for acquiring with DVCPRO50 SD or take the plunge & try HD? I have no experience of downconverting in Media100 HD & would appreciate any advice. Is the process lossy or introduce artifacts? Programme length will be 30 mins. Will the downconvert take forever? Thanks.

G5 dual 2.7, OS10.4.4, 4G RAM
Media100 HD 10.1.3, AE 7
2.6 terra RAID

Return to posts index

Michael SloweRe: HD to SD workflow & quality
by on Mar 6, 2006 at 8:43:50 pm

This is my intended workflow from Media 100 HD. I believe that the hardware in the system does the downconvert very well with no loss of quality together with the choice of aspect ratio (16:9 or 4:3). This is one of the features of the new HD version.

Return to posts index

FlohRe: HD to SD workflow & quality
by on Mar 6, 2006 at 8:44:19 pm

[Sheeplove] "Should I opt for acquiring with DVCPRO50 SD or take the plunge & try HD? I have no experience of downconverting in Media100 HD & would appreciate any advice. Is the process lossy or introduce artifacts?"

Of course the process is "lossy", since a big amount of your recorded resolution will not be digitized. But it looks very crsip and sharp; the downconverted signal from Media 100 HD really looks very good.