MEDIA 100: Media 100 844/X Forum Media 100 Forum Media 100 Tutorials

question for you xserve raid users...

COW Forums : Media 100

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Bobby Mosaedi
question for you xserve raid users...
on Jan 15, 2006 at 5:24:37 am

just got our hands on a fully populated xserve to complete our HD system... fibre channel card and cables are on the way. we plan to buy another powermac desktop to start the transition into final cut pro, but will probably throw media 100sw on it as well. the idea is to have both the media100 hd system and m100sw system to be able to share the media on the xserve raid... what will i need to do to achieve this? can i connect it to both macs at the same time? or will i need to get a fibre channel switch and seperate computer with xsan? im pretty new to the idea of centralized network storage, so any additional background info would help. thanks

Return to posts index

Floh
Re: question for you xserve raid users...
by
on Jan 15, 2006 at 11:20:23 am

[Bobby Mosaedi] "what will i need to do to achieve this? can i connect it to both macs at the same time? or will i need to get a fibre channel switch and seperate computer with xsan?"

You need a FC switch to connect more than one computer to each XServe RAID channel. The qLogic 5200 are quite good for that. And you need a SAN management software like either XSAN or e.g. FibreJet. The big benefit of FibreJet is that you can install and maintain it by yourself, and that it it much cheaper (overall) than XSAN, since you don

Return to posts index

Bobby Mosaedi
on Jan 18, 2006 at 4:35:16 pm