FORUMS: list search recent posts

Storage & External Hard Drives

COW Forums : Storage

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Abbey Smith
Storage & External Hard Drives
on Feb 7, 2019 at 6:24:43 pm

Hello!

I am a graphic designer that works primarily in Ai, Ps, Ae. I know how to work the programs, but I'm not very techy or knowledgeable when it comes to computers, drives, knowing which drives to use so my computer runs quicker, and knowing where to store my files, etc. I work alone and I am at a loss. That's why I'm reaching out to you all.

I work on an iMac with 32 GB of memory (with about 600GB available). All my files are stored on my computer and in Dropbox. I have a 1TB Seagate external drive that runs a daily back up.

When working in Ae my computer drags, and I'm waisting a lot of my time waiting on files to load, update or save.

Would an external hard drive be beneficial for me? If so, do you have any recommendations? Is the external hard drive where I need to keep all my day to day files, and get them off my computer hard drive?

I want my computer to run quicker and I want to be more organized and knowledgeable about where my files need to be saved. If anyone can help me out or give me some pointers that would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Bob Zelin
Re: Storage & External Hard Drives
on Feb 7, 2019 at 6:42:09 pm

it's not your storage.
Simple answer - switch to a Win 10 PC with an NVidia GPU card. Your Mac can't do GPU acceleration.
Other tips - go to Preferences> Media Cache.
Find the path for your Media Cache. Don't click clean - it's not good enough.
Manually go to that path /Library/Application Support/Adobe/Common /Media Cache
and delete all those files (with AE or Premiere closed). Then relaunch. I bet it's faster now.

Bob Zelin

Bob Zelin
Rescue 1, Inc.
bobzelin@icloud.com

Return to posts index

Abbey Smith
on Feb 7, 2019 at 7:36:13 pm