APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X Creative Community Conversations FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

FCP Multicam Project plays in Viewer, but won't export.

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dean Hill
FCP Multicam Project plays in Viewer, but won't export.
on Jul 5, 2020 at 7:27:57 pm

I’m new to FCPX, (version 10.1.4), though I’ve edited part-time for over a quarter of a century. I understand now, from reading other posts, that I’m not using the best procedure for working in FCPX.

However, I have an edit which plays perfectly in the viewer, but won’t export in that form.

The show consists primarily of a Med shot, a CU, and a separate audio track, all recorded simultaneously. The video shots used my iPhone and Macbook Pro recording capability, with their funky audio. The Master audio was from a good mic recorded into Soundtrack Pro. I used a hand clap as a slate. I’m also including several photos with the Ken Burns technique.

I activated multi cam editing for synching, but edited by dragging clips around the old fashioned way.

Now I have a Master Track with all the video edits (and the light gray bar multi-track?) behind it, and a second track below with the audio recording. The Med shot, which was placed between them has now been deleted, leaving me with two tracks.

But when I go to share-export, all I get is the Med shot in the quicktime video which FCP generates. PLEASE let me know if there is a work-around for this, so that what I see and hear in the Viewer is what is exported (shared).

Return to posts index

Greg Ball
Re: FCP Multicam Project plays in Viewer, but won't export.
on Jul 7, 2020 at 4:43:08 pm

Why not create Compound clip of your whole project, then export that? You can also open a new project and insert the Compound clip into that project.

Greg Ball, President
Ball Media Innovations, Inc.
https://www.ballmediainnovations.com

Return to posts index

Dean Hill