APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Unusual FCPX problem - red line in timeline render bar

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Hamdani Milas
Unusual FCPX problem - red line in timeline render bar
on Apr 29, 2020 at 7:29:21 pm

I've been using FCPX continuously for paid work for 6 years, a slow adopter from 5 years with FCP Studio. I've encountered a problem not seen before, nor have I found it discussed on any forums. (Sorry for the long post but I wanted to provide as much description as possible.)

Recently updated a 2015 27" iMac to Mojave 10.14.6 and also updated all Pro Apps including FCPX10.4.8. The problem is this:

After updating some older libraries thin red lines were visible in the timeline render bar above random clips, titles or transitions. Sometimes these clips play smoothly, sometimes they judder. Sometimes the clips export okay, sometimes the juddery playback or even a stalled frame is reproduced in the exported file. The red line can sometimes be made to disappear by placing a duplicate of the clip on the secondary storyline above the original or by moving a title, or by separating the audio track. But it may return later. The red line may also disappear if a colour adjustment is made, only to return later.

The timelines include all ProRes video files and the only consistency of this red line issue seems to be its randomness.

The red line phenomena also applies to new libraries created from scratch in projects with all ProRes video media. I've also noticed the project render routine itself is hit and miss, I usually disable background-render, now and then select all and manually trigger a render but portions of the timeline often refuse to render leaving the usual white dots.