APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Delete Grey Position Block

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Chris Dutton
Delete Grey Position Block
on Jan 16, 2020 at 10:17:28 am

Hi

I am pretty new to FCPX so learning as I go along. I watched a tutorial on fulltime filmmaker and he was going through every clip he had taken and ones he liked he moved above to show which to keep. He was using Premiere Pro, which I now know is different to how you arrange the clips.

I have done this on all of my clips, and now realising that it probably would have made sense to put the ones I do not want above the main timeline as I could delete these a lot easier.

I now have a timeline that looks like this:

I am wanting to basically delete these grey boxes so the clips above could then take its place, but of course, when I do this, it deletes the clips connected to it.

Is there an easy way to do this instead of going over all the clips and manually moving each back into the grey area?

The clips I am not using which are currently on the main timeline I would like to put maybe right at the end of the project, so, if I decide I may want to use a clip I can go and look back at the ones I had originally dismissed, would that be easier to just copy those into another project?

Return to posts index

Brad Hurley
Re: Delete Grey Position Block
on Jan 16, 2020 at 12:06:30 pm

You can select any clips you want to move back to the gap clip beneath them and hit option-command-down arrow to move them back into the primary storyline. You can do this with multiple clips by command-clicking them or (if they are contiguous) shift-clicking them.