APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Roles and compound clips

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian paterson
Roles and compound clips
on Oct 10, 2018 at 8:39:47 pm

I am relatively new to FCPX and have been struggling for longer than I care to admit, to make progress having been a former fcp7 user.
Bit by bit, kicking and biting it seems I have had no option but to toe the line and fall into place behind these new working practices and my latest attempt at learning a new part of this programme was to try and get to grips with "Roles".
For my initial trial run after spending many many hours reading and watching You Tube clips abut "Roles" I decide to bite the bullet having come to the conclusion that FCPX would not let me work in the orderly fashion I would like to unless I did what it wanted me to do in it's own dictatorial way.
I am currently working on a film of the sea crashing on rocks on a wet windy and rainy day and in order to bring it all to life the soundtrack was going to be the most challenging.
As the sound of falling rain was going to be a major player in the edit I choose a suitable clip which I extended by copying and pasting several times and then made this into a compound clip to make it easier to extend further.
As the project got larger and I added sound effects of thunder, crashing waves, more rain etc etc I found the audio clips were getting out of hand and as I could not control which lanes they were going in due to FCPX's new way of working they were eventually becoming confusing and difficult to make sense of.
So I thought, right! time to put "Roles" into practice.