APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Playing hundreds of clips at once in FCPX

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Cat Heller
Playing hundreds of clips at once in FCPX
on Oct 5, 2018 at 6:32:04 pm

Hello,

I'm trying to make a video where 144 small clips play at once with no special effects or text. I bring each MP4 clip (mostly shot on smartphones) in and resize them to 11% and desaturate them. I then place them side by side. All was going well until I got to around the 100th and when I try to edit the clip or move it around, the viewer goes blank and I cant see where I'm placing the clips next to each other. When I delete about 20 or so clips, it seems to restore itself and work again. I'm new to FCP, so I'm wondering if there's a better way I could have built the timeline? Or is there a better workflow that would make FCPX work better?

I would really appreciate any help or point in the right direction.

Thanks so much,
Cat

Return to posts index

Jeff Kirkland
Re: Playing hundreds of clips at once in FCPX
on Oct 5, 2018 at 9:34:32 pm

What Mac are you editing on? From your description, just wondering if you’re hitting the limit of your computer’s GPU RAM or maybe some sort of throughput issue because of the number of clips.

My thought would be to either batch resize the videos before bringing them in to FCPX or to render the first 80 or so clips, then bring that new clip back in and add the rest. You might also try grouping some in a background clip and letting that background render. I think FCPX will keep using that background rendered version as a single clip until you make a change to the contents of the compound clip, which might ease the load a little.

I’ve never had it happen to me so just a few stabs in the dark...

----
Jeff Kirkland | Video Producer & Cinematographer
Hobart, Tasmania | Twitter: @jeffkirkland

Return to posts index

Joe Marler