APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X Creative Community Conversations FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Slower 1080p FCPX Exports compared to Old System

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul Gracia
Slower 1080p FCPX Exports compared to Old System
on Aug 23, 2018 at 8:58:08 am

Hi all!
I've been a COW reader for a long time, and today is the first time I'm posting ☺

Introduction
I have an issue that I haven't been able to solve, and I create this post in the hope of being saved!
I am a video editor, and due to what I'm asked for, my main workflow is editing and exporting 1080p and 4K in h264, no ProRes.

I usually get the originals sent to me through the cloud, already in h264 (cameras, capture cards, etc) and I then do my thing.

Background
Up until a couple of months ago, I had been working since I started with a 2014 5K Retina iMac, full-spec: i7 4GHz, 32GB 1600MHz DDR3, 500GB SSD, AMD Radeon R9 M295X

I started to work with 4K around 2 years ago, and this last year has been a pain in the ass working with it, due to overheating mainly: My GPU would reach 105ºC pretty fast (I'm talking after 30s of exporting), and I needed to turn off the screen in order to keep it there. If I tried just to write an email while exporting, temp would go all the way up to 110 - 111ºC and then shut down. It was way worse with 4K, of course, but it also happened with 1080p.

I had been holdin off of buying a new mac because I was waiting for a new Mac Pro, and the iMac Pro doesn't cut it for me because it makes me buy a screen after all, and I already got two. So since there doesn't seem to be any signs of a new Mac Pro at least until... what, 2020? Well, I decided to go build a hackintosh.

Gotta say the building was easy, the configuration not so much, but now it's flawless and works amazing. Specs:
i7-8700K, 32GB DDR4-3200, 2TB Samsung Evo 860 (M.2 NVME), Radeon Vega 64.

Problem