APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Exporting Rec 2020 footage

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ben Lithman
Exporting Rec 2020 footage
on Apr 11, 2018 at 1:51:31 pm

Hi, I work as a freelance cameraman and editor and am in the process of transitioning from shooting and editing standard Rec709 to Rec2020.

For the most part I think I understand the theory and practice behind it, but am getting stuck at the exporting process.

I should state, that all my projects are delivered to web, not for broadcast and not watched on HDR screens. The reason I want to shoot and edit Log footage is so I can rescue what would be heavily clipped and blow-out highlights in Rec 709...

My issue is that when I've finished editing and colour correcting my log footage (on a rec2020 timeline), and I send to compressor to create an MP4 I get really horrible looking footage out the other end. See here (image cropped to remove client logo)

I get the same result even if I change the colour space of the MP4 presetin compressor to Rec 2020 or Rec 709.

The only way I've found to get decent looking footage is to create a M4V direct within FCPX. Obviously most clients want an MP4 not an M4V. See here.

Any help appreciated. Again and just to clarify, I know Rec2020 is meant for HDR displays etc etc. However what I want is to use it to rescue highlights etc.

Many thanks!

Return to posts index

Oliver Peters
Re: Exporting Rec 2020 footage
on Apr 11, 2018 at 10:44:47 pm

Rec2020 has nothing to do with protecting highlighted and HDR. It is a color space container. Unless you are exporting 4K targeted for 4K displays that support 2020, stay in Rec 709.

Oliver

Oliver Peters - oliverpeters.com

Return to posts index

Jeremy Garchow
on Apr 12, 2018 at 12:30:17 am

To add to what Oliver is saying, you can still shoot and grade footage in 709. We do it everyday.

Return to posts index

Ben Lithman