APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Multiple Problems with Final Cut

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Ryan Neuman
Multiple Problems with Final Cut
on Mar 1, 2018 at 3:43:09 pm

I'm a videographer that has been editing professionally for over 2 years now with Final Cut and I feel like I've reached my limit with it.

My specs are as follows:

- MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)
- Processor 2.5 GHz Intel Core i7
- Memory 16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
- Startup Disk Macintosh HD
- Graphics AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB, Intel Iris Pro 1536 MB
- Apple Thunderbolt Display: 27-inch (2560 x 1440), AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB graphics
- External 6 TB USB Disk

I shoot primarily with a Canon XA10 24FPS 1/48 Shutter Speed. I've posted a few other times on this forum about glitchy/liney footage and I'm still having the same problems.

https://forums.creativecow.net/thread/344/49764
https://forums.creativecow.net/thread/344/48788

The solution I've been using is opening the AVCHD footage and saving to my desktop (I think by doing this it saves as a MOV file?) and then I drag that into my timeline. Is there a way to avoid this because it takes a ton of time. I recently had to edit 13 different videos and I had to go back and fix A LOT of the footage I took. I remember before the latest Final Cut update (10.4) it never did this. Is there a converter I can use that doesn't take long? (AVCHD to MOV) Or do I have to match the timeline settings, which I think the default is 30FPS 1920x1080?

Lately, Final Cut has been SUPER slow too (almost to the point of not even being able to use it). I operate off the external hard drive that I mentioned before to save space on my desktop. Do I need a firewire, is that why it's been so slow? I don't know much about firewires as it's just been operating off the cables it came with.