APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

How to fix blonde hair that turned pink after keying

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Gabrielle Dorr
How to fix blonde hair that turned pink after keying
on Nov 29, 2017 at 6:07:30 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to green screens so haven't come across this problem until now. I removed the green background from a video clip using the keyer and the girl's hair turned pink. She has very light blonde hair and fair skin. Her skin looks fine but there is a tint of pink in her hair. I tried using adding a color mask to her hair but when I change the color it changes her face as well. I can't seem to isolate her hair from her face. Any thoughts?

Here are the before and after shots of the clip:

Thanks,

Gabrielle

Return to posts index

Jeff Kirkland
Re: How to fix blonde hair that turned pink after keying
on Nov 29, 2017 at 10:59:33 pm

You can see the source of the issue from the amount of spill on her hair. Avoiding it in the future comes down to better lighting and moving her further away from the green screen.

Fixing what you’ve got, you could dial down the spill removal until the pink goes away or do what you’ve done but add a shape mask to the colour mask to isolate her hair from her face. If she’s moving a lot you’ll either have to track it with something like Track X or do it manually. With enough feathering you don’t need the track to be amazingly accurate, just ball-park, so it shouldn’t take too long - unless it’s a three hour interview or something.

I’d personally do the key, get the editing done, then send the final result to resolve and track a colour mask there to do the final fix of her hair. Just way better tools than in FCPX.

----
Jeff Kirkland | Video Producer & Cinematographer
Hobart, Tasmania | Twitter: @jeffkirkland

Return to posts index

Chris Wright
on Nov 29, 2017 at 11:47:47 pm