APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X FCPX Debates FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Best syncing workflow between Laptop and Desktop

COW Forums : Apple Final Cut Pro X

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Declan Smith
Best syncing workflow between Laptop and Desktop
on Oct 9, 2017 at 11:19:15 am

I am relatively new to FCPX having converted back to FCP from Adobe.

I have a multi camera project in FCP X which I am currently working with mostly on my laptop. On the laptop "version" I am using proxy footage and on the desktop, I have the space for the original media. My question in a nutshell is what is the best way to sync the project between the laptop and desktop? I work on the laptop doing most of the edits on the train etc, then when back in the studio want to transfer to the desktop for further work, then back to laptop when I need to be out and about.

I have tried exporting project xml and importing, but have found that this doesn't appear to be ideal as the project browser doesn't keep up with changes. I have also had a few problems with audio edits reverting back, so right now, my laptop is the master but I need to use the desktop for colour grading / sound mastering.

I don't have the space for the original media on the laptop and although I could use an external drive, don't really want to have to plug one in when I'm on the move (happy to use it to backup / sync of course!)

Would really like to know of a workflow that allows simple handoff back and forth between computers taking into account different footage setup (i.e. one proxy / one original).

Declan Smith
http://www.madpanic.tv
FCPX / Adobe CS6/ FCS3 / Canon XLH1 / Canon 7D / Reason / Cubase

"it's either binary or it's not"

Return to posts index

Joe Marler
Re: Best syncing workflow between Laptop and Desktop
on Oct 9, 2017 at 3:10:24 pm