APPLE FINAL CUT PRO: Apple Final Cut Pro X Creative Community Conversations FCP Legacy FCP Tutorials

Is anyone using Motion?

COW Forums : NAB Show

VIEW ALL   •   PRINT
Oliver Peters
Is anyone using Motion?
on Feb 28, 2016 at 5:25:01 pm

I'm curious. I see a lot of wonderful work being done in Motion from time to time, as well as to create FCPX templates. But is anyone seriously using it for motion graphics? In the entire existence of Motion, I've only encountered 1 or 2 people who have delivered graphics to me that were created in Motion. Almost everything I encounter was created in After Effects. What are others seeing?

Oliver

Oliver Peters Post Production Services, LLC
Orlando, FL
http://www.oliverpeters.com

Return to posts index

Steve Connor
Re: Is anyone using Motion?
on Feb 28, 2016 at 5:35:21 pm

As an Editor I use it a lot for straightforward work, but I don't know any Graphic Artists who use it, it's all AE

Return to posts index

Bret Williams
on Feb 28, 2016 at 6:28:29 pm

As an editor that's been doing his own AE work for 20 years, I switched when Adobe started being a ...

For my work, mostly communications, it's easily more capable than AE, especially for creating X templates and plugs. But I still use AE when I have to. I try to use my CS5 version first. When Adobe recently had a sale on subscriptions I got an AE only subscription. But I STILL use CS5 if I can. I like to open my projects down the road without shelling out cash.

Return to posts index

John Rofrano
on Feb 28, 2016 at 8:17:50 pm

[Bret Williams] "As an editor that's been doing his own AE work for 20 years, I switched when Adobe started being a ..."
+1

I switched from AE CS6 after Adobe went subscription so I use Motion 5 now and I find it a lot easier to use and the integration with FCP X templates makes it a far better choice for video editors that also do motion graphics.

~jr

http://www.johnrofrano.com
http://www.vasstsoftware.com

Return to posts index

Oliver Peters