FORUMS: list search recent posts

Slow LTO Write Speeds- mTape TB3 - LTO7 as M8

COW Forums : Archiving and Back-Up

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dale Sandberg
Slow LTO Write Speeds- mTape TB3 - LTO7 as M8
on Jun 26, 2019 at 1:48:42 pm

Hi all,

I'm a bit new to LTO solutions and am struggling to find what's wrong with our setup. We have a mLogic mTape LTO 8 Thunderbolt 3 and are using LTO7 tapes formatted as M8. The maximum transfer speed we are getting with this setup is 30MB per second. All the documentation I've read says we should be able to achieve the standard 300MB per second but that's just not happening. We're using YoYotta LTFS and are not spanning tapes but treating each as a single "drive" although we are using the Collection and Project catalog within YoYotta.

We have the mTape device connected to an iMac via TB2 to TB3 adapter and the media being backed up is on network storage accessed via 1GB ethernet. We're backing up a variety of source material, mostly video, in a range of codecs. Some tapes only fit less than 100 ProRes files and others have over 100k mp4s. Neither backup has broken the 30MB per second barrier to my knowledge. Compression is on, YoYotta stated it's hardware compression and doesn't slow down the backup even though video will not benefit from it, there may be other files in the archives that would.

When the tapes are verified, this process appears to happen at a "normal" speed because the hours remaining will go from 60+ to 0 in less than a day.

We're running YoYotta V3 (89) on Sierra 10.12.6. Let me know if I've left out any crucial information. Would appreciate any suggestions, best practices, etc... that may correct me of any errors.

Return to posts index

Martin Greenwood
Re: Slow LTO Write Speeds- mTape TB3 - LTO7 as M8
on Jun 26, 2019 at 2:35:10 pm

To write at full speed to an LTO-7 tape your source will need to supply at least 300MB/s. So your limitation will be the 1Gb network speed.