FORUMS: list search recent posts

LED Location light kits

COW Forums : Field Production

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
James Dow
LED Location light kits
on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:15:32 pm

I've been packing around an ARRI kit for many years, mostly for interviews. I'm wanting to pick up an LED kit, and will be spending about 3 grand. Is anyone using IKAN products? How do they compare to the ARRI LED products?

I've been shooting with an HVX 200A, but will soon be using a Canon C100 DSLR for most projects.

Thanks,
JPD

JPD

Return to posts index

Erik Anschicks
Re: LED Location light kits
on May 6, 2014 at 4:11:29 am

Hi James-

I haven't used Ikan lights a great deal, but I have a few times with other people's kits and they're certainly not in Arri's league, LED or not. Color seemed inconsistent and build quality was not the same as a higher-end fixture.

That being said, I'm not a huge fan of Arri LEDs except the Locaster series thus far, relative to what you pay. The quality of the color and build is top-notch, but I find them all to be somewhat underpowered, especially comparing them to other similarly-priced high end manufacturers who are giving more bang for the buck, like LEDs from Zylight, Dedo and Mole. I like the Locasters best, but for really close lighting and much smaller scales, you'd have to rig multiples together to get a keylight source with a flexible enough amount of punch, IMO.

What type of Arri kit, meaning how many and what sizes, do you have that you'd like to update? That will give me a better idea of what to recommend, though I'd probably start with some kind of combo of the new Dedolight DLED series. Expensive, but beautiful, and also not as expensive as some of the other types in it's class.

You could also try posting in the Lighting Design forum, though the kit subject has been discussed a lot there so I don't know how willing to help others may be:)

Return to posts index

Micah Wolf
Re: LED Location light kits