FORUMS: list search recent posts

Please clarify a basic lighting question for me!

COW Forums : Field Production

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Josh Smith
Please clarify a basic lighting question for me!
on Sep 4, 2013 at 12:30:47 am

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to the video production game, and so far with regard to lighting, I've been using a set of three Redhead lights (all 800W) with dimmers. This seems to be absolutely ideal for using in a variety of situations as a 3-point system (key, fill and back lights), where I can use the dimmers to lessen the brightness of the lights according to the scene and the kind of effect I want to create.

Now, I'm looking to upgrade my lighting kit, and all the lights out there seem to NOT have dimmers. Am I missing something? My lights are VERY bright unless I dim them, so how to people get by without dimmers? How do they control the brightness of their lights? Do they even need to - do I not really need dimmers?! I am aware you can get lighting kits that have lights of different wattage (e.g. 1 x 150W, 1 x 300W, 1 x 650W etc.), but this is still very restrictive as far as I can see in terms of altering the look of the lighting - so am I doing it wrong...?

If someone can shed some light on the situation (pun intended...), that would be awesome.

Thanks,

Josh.

Return to posts index

Tom Miller
Re: Please clarify a basic lighting question for me!
on Sep 4, 2013 at 2:18:00 am

Hi Josh,

Very good questions. There are many ways to control the intensity of a light. Some also impact other qualities of the light, and some don't. Let's take a look at a few:

1) Dimming - Dimming a light does indeed reduce its intensity, but it also reduces its color temperature. In other words, the cost of dimming is that it goes warmer. This may be the effect you're after, but if not then you should use another method. BTW, I like dimming back lights as warmer back lights are often the effect I'm after anyway.