FORUMS: list search recent posts

Should I take the role? Audio Trainee

COW Forums : Audio Professionals

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Nicolette Hurnen
Should I take the role? Audio Trainee
on Aug 11, 2019 at 5:18:31 am

I'm currently 1.5 years through a 3 year degree in film production and I have been offered a 6 week position as an Audio Trainee on a feature film.

But unfortunately, taking the position would mean that I would miss half of this semester and I would have to wait a year to go back to study because of how my degree is structured.

Is this Audio Trainee role a rare occurrence? Is it worth taking a year off study?

Return to posts index

Ty Ford
Re: Should I take the role? Audio Trainee
on Aug 11, 2019 at 4:21:31 pm

Hello Nicolette and welcome to the Cow Audio Forum.

While I'm sure you'd learn a lot of things about the business if you took the position, Audio Trainee is not a position I'm familiar with. Others may come in and give you further ideas.

I'm gonna go with a "Thanks so much, but no. Can I please have your contact information for after I get my degree?"

Disclaimer: I don't have a degree. I'm old. Degrees were not as important when I was younger. I do have an FCC General RadioTelephone Operator's license. It was originally a First Class Telephone Operator's license, but the FCC changed things. I studied for over a year to get that. I also took a course at a local big time recording studio that consisted of 24 one hour teaching sessions. Anyway, enough about me.

As the population grew, employers had to have some way to filter the applicants. They were advised (by academics) that having degrees would do that job. The academics, of course, would be the ones profiting from all of those who felt obliged to pursue a career with a degree.