FORUMS: list search recent posts

Zoom amateur

COW Forums : Audio Professionals

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Aaron Lloyd
Zoom amateur
on Jul 28, 2019 at 1:41:55 am

Hey Guys,

I I am not an audio pro, and I am in the process of hiring one going forward. But my question is I have the H4N, a Sennheiser lav, and a Rode NTG 3. Can I record using both mics to have 2 separate tracks of an interview on the Zoom? I have recorded, one but never both at the same time If so, under what settings? I am recording an interview for a doc, and can't postpone before my audio hire. If there are any other suggestions, please I am open to here them.

Return to posts index

Richard Crowley
Re: Zoom amateur
on Jul 28, 2019 at 4:42:17 am

It is not clear why you think you need "two separate tracks"?
What we call "Stereo" is just two separate tracks that happen to be recorded together.

If you plug one microphone into the #1 Left input and the other microphone into the #2 Right input, you will have a "stereo" track with one microphone on the "Left" and the other microphone on the "Right". This is a very common way of recording multiple microphones and it is not clear why this is not acceptable?

You did not state what editing software you are using, but I can't think of any editing software that won't let you separate the "Track #1 Left" and "Track #2 Right" channels to properly mix them independently.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Recording audio without metering and monitoring is exactly like framing and focusing without looking at the viewfinder.

Return to posts index

Aaron Lloyd
on Jul 30, 2019 at 6:44:16 am

Thank You, Richard and Robert!