FORUMS: list search recent posts

What can I do about this audio mixing problem with sound effects?

COW Forums : Audio Professionals

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
ryan elder
What can I do about this audio mixing problem with sound effects?
on Aug 8, 2018 at 3:01:21 am

I graduated from film school and on our final film project, basically after I am done completing the video edit and have locked picture, we the students, then turn over our projects to the school who gets audio engineers to do the sound work.

However, I never got to have much input on the sound, and the audio just worked on for a couple of days, and then handed it back to me. Have the sound effects and foley are missing and other sound effects I don't feel should be there, or are not motivated.

For example, there is a scene where a detective has her gun out and she enters a scene looking for a suspect, and then she finds the suspect and points her pistol at him. She then says "don't move".

As she says this, you can here the sound of a pistol's slide being pulled back, then going forward. But when she says 'don't move', she is not doing this to the gun at all, and it's very distracting I find, cause people will think, where did that sound come from, did she pull back on the slide or something, when it didn't look like it?

Things like that bother me about the final sound mix, and I was wondering is it possible to remove the sound of the gun, while keeping her voice saying don't move? I can add in the sound effects that are missing, just wondering if I can remove the ones I was given but do not want.

What do you think?

Return to posts index

Richard Crowley
Re: What can I do about this audio mixing problem with sound effects?
on Aug 8, 2018 at 10:07:34 am

Sure, you can do that if you are mixing the tracks.
But you can not do that if the track is handed to you already mixed.
Your remedies appear to be:
  • Convince the sound mixer to change his mix.