FORUMS: list search recent posts

Struggling to fix poor quality audio

COW Forums : Audio Professionals

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Neil Anderson
Struggling to fix poor quality audio
on Dec 7, 2017 at 10:21:42 am

I'd really appreciate some help with the audio quality in my videos, it sounds synthetic. I've been trying to fix it and it's driving me nuts. I'm really struggling because I'm a beginner.

I'm using:
Shure SM7B microphone.
DBX 286S Preprocessor.
FocusRite 2i2 USB interface.
That goes into my laptop where I'm using Camtasia 8 to record videos.

I'm using the same hardware as these guys:

But my videos sound like this:

I've set the software to record at 44.1 KHz in Camtasia and the FocusRite ASIO Control Panel (44.1KHz is the recommended setting for Camtasia, it doesn't handle 48 KHz well).

I'm not seeing any clipping being reported on the DBX, FocusRight or Camtasia, the maximum level being recorded goes up to about -3 Db.

I'm in a recording booth with pretty much zero background noise.

I've tried on another laptop and with Camtasia 9. I've also tried at 48 KHz in Adobe Audition. I've tried enabling process bypass on the DBX. The quality is the same.

What can I do to get better audio quality? I'd really appreciate any help. Thanks!
Neil

Return to posts index

Richard Crowley
Re: Struggling to fix poor quality audio
on Dec 7, 2017 at 3:24:50 pm
Last Edited By Richard Crowley on Dec 7, 2017 at 3:47:19 pm

tl;dr Back off, use a different mic.