FORUMS: list search recent posts

Audio Level for Recording on Zoom H6 or equivalent

COW Forums : Audio Professionals

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Alexander Craggs
Audio Level for Recording on Zoom H6 or equivalent
on Nov 26, 2017 at 12:17:38 am

Hello,

I'm relatively new to Creative Cow, but have spent several hours on internet searches and don't have a satisfactory (or direct) answer to a simple question I have. Perhaps I simply don't understand the available explanations and so I would appreciate someone with the patience to explain this to me.

I've read that there are general guidelines for the dB levels when recording audio. These rules of thumb differ for different recording settings (film, broadcast, dialogue etc) but generally fall somewhere in the -20 to -6 dB range. The main reason for this is to avoid clipping (which is when audio goes above 0 dB and gets distorted).

I am struggling to understand the rationale for a lower bound for the audio. Intuitively to me, the ideal would be to record at as soft a level as possible to eliminate background noise maximally, and then adjust the audio to a pleasantly audible level in post. Why then should we be aiming for something in the ball park of -20 dB? Is it because volumes below that are not audible?

I've just come off a shoot today and tried recording at -40 dB and -10 dB respectively on a Zoom H6 (different scenes, to be fair), and found that comparing the two in post, once they'd been adjusted to sound the same in terms of volume, that the recording at -40 dB was clearer (less noise). Even if it took more adjustment to arrive at a suitable audible level (it was soft when first imported).

I should mention that at the -40 dB recording, it is still possible to hear the playback reasonably clearly when the recorder's playback volume is at 100.

I'm struggling to make sense of this. Is it that: