FORUMS: list search recent posts

Ingesting HD in a broadcast facility

COW Forums : Audio Professionals

<< PREVIOUS   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Antonis Tsoukatos
Ingesting HD in a broadcast facility
on Jul 7, 2010 at 11:22:01 am

Hello all

I am a freelancing dialogue editor and sound designer engineer/ designer but to make ends meet I work as in a broadcast facility doing both audio and video work. Currently the work place is thinking of upgrading a lot of kit to accommodate HD content (we've been SD only so far). Amongst, all the facilities within the company, there is a Mac Pro equipped with a Kona Card and FCP to ingest all the short forms clips before the go to the Transmission servers.

Because of my audio experience, I was asked for my opinion of how this would be approached. And here comes my question to all you guys:

A managing engineer thinks that with the introduction of HD, this "short form ingest room" in particular room needs Pro Tools installed. Don't know exact reasons yet (I am about to find later on), but I am almost certain that to ingest HD video, with Dolby Encoded audio, you could do with a dedicated Kona card, your HD deck, Final Cut Pro, the surround monitoring (of course) and a Dolby encoder and decoder as well.

The process would be to digitize all promos, QC audio and video and send them to the Tx servers with the audio either Dolby encoded or as six separate audio tracks. Would there really be a need for a full blown HD rig? What would be the "smartest" way of ingesting HD/ Dolby encoded content, monitor it, and then send it to the Tx servers?

Thanks all

Thanks all

Return to posts index

Antonis Tsoukatos
Pro Tools Rig for HD Video Ingest
on Jul 7, 2010 at 5:59:50 pm

The subject that I put down perhaps does not fit with the Audio Pros Forum. I am changing it a bit here in case it helps.

Return to posts index

Ty Ford
Re: Pro Tools Rig for HD Video Ingest
on Jul 8, 2010 at 2:21:51 am