ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Computer Advice for Editing

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Tyler Blank
Computer Advice for Editing
on Jun 10, 2017 at 8:36:00 pm

Hey Guys,
I am very new to editing with Adobe Premier, I have only used it to edit film in school. However, I am thinking of purchasing the software at home as well. I have a drone (the Phantom 3 Advanced) and it films 2.7K video. I really need advice as to what kind of computer I should purchase that can handle this kind of video and be able to run Adobe Premier smoothly? I don't need fast export time, just a computer that can handle the software and video without skipping while I am attempting to edit. My price range is not the best... I was really hoping to keep the price under $1,000 however, I am open to all opinions. Also, I don't care weather it is Mac or Windows - laptop or desktop.

Thanks,
Tyler

Return to posts index

andy patterson
Re: Computer Advice for Editing
on Jun 10, 2017 at 10:04:30 pm

Any Quad Core I7 Skylake or Kaby Lake at 4 GHZ with 16 GB of RAM and a GTX 1060 will work just fine. Having said that a GTX 1080 Ti would be even better. You can easily build a decent video editing system for $1,000.00. It might be wise to get an SSD for the OS and HD for the media content. A GTX 1060 will not require an expensive power supply but if you have $1000.00 a GTX 1070 would be money well spent.

Return to posts index

Tyler Blank
on Jun 11, 2017 at 1:02:10 am

Andy, thank you for the input it is very helpful. However, I wasn't really looking to build a computer. I have never built a computer before and I don't fully understand all the specs and what everything means (ram, etc).

Thanks

Return to posts index

Michael Krueger
on Jun 10, 2017 at 11:30:29 pm