ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Unnesting a Sequence

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Can Adil
Unnesting a Sequence
on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:17:13 pm

Hi,
I have sequence formed of different clips in 2 video layers. It's an interview recording, with the second layer being the subtitles mov file. (a transparent alpha mov file with only the subtitles)
It's something like this:

V2: ---------------- subtitle.mov clip -------------------------
V1: --clip1---- ----clip2 ------ ------ clip3 ------ ---clip4----

Then, I have my master sequence, in which I have directly cut and used the previous sequence as if it's a single clip. As a result, in my master sequence, I do not have original clips individually seen as in the sub-sequence. What I have taken from the above sub-sequence is cut and edited.

I am now putting B-roll recordings above the interview sequence (which is at V1 of the master sequence).
However, as I put the B-roll files, my subtitle.mov layer also remains invisible in the background. As I cannot understand the speech (in a different language), I have difficulty in aligning the B-roll and speech.

If only I could unnest the edited sequence, and had 2 layers of original clips inside the master sequence (but with the same rearranged and edited order), I would simply move the subtitle parts to V3, and B-roll to V2, and sort the problem.

Does anyone know if this is possible?

In short, is it possible to unnest a sequence inside a master sequence, to have separate original clips in the master sequence - with all the cuts of the sequence remaining?

Thanks

Return to posts index

Dan Powers
Re: Unnesting a Sequence
on Feb 13, 2017 at 7:22:06 pm

The obvious answer is to go to the nested sequence and copy the tracks you want and paste them into the new sequence.
Right, or am I missing something?