ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Color

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Magnus Wolff SoerlieColor
by on Dec 23, 2016 at 3:52:04 pm

Searched a lot around, and I'm really sorry if I've missed an obvious post.
I've been working half-professional with video for about two years now, and I've tried to become more serious about
color for about 6 months. I've looked a lot around for information on controlling the basics and grading, everything from manual to LUTs,
but they always seem to heavily smash or color the shadows and/or highlights.
I use PP and AE 2016, and I have the newest Magic Bullet and Universe suites as well. Cameras are mainly BlackMagic Cinema 4k and Phantom 4.

I live in Norway, and being able to sell images like the orange midnight sun without having my shadows look orange, and the glaciers and mountains with cyan waters, blue sky, and still grey/black/white mountains/rocks/snow is important for the segment I'm aiming for. Color spill when using curves with secondary coloration and luma masking never seem to work well, but I'm well aware that this might be because of my inability. I can make images pop and all that fancy stuff that YouTube teaches you, but I'm looking for more extensive color control, both for natural and Michael Bay looks.

TL;DR : I can't find good info on color grading that lets shadows be black (or milky), white snow and clouds white, the sky blue, the grass green and the sunset orange. I know color is a field on it's own, and I don't want to offend any seasoned professionals by thinking this is easy, but can anyone point me in a direction to improve my skills? I don't mind buying books or paying for online courses as long as they are aimed toward "pro" results.

I've shot a relatively large amunt of Phantom 4 footage, and it seems to me that it more or less always it makes the greens more yellow.