ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Proxy question regarding media encoder and proxy sizes and 4k

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jake Frader
Proxy question regarding media encoder and proxy sizes and 4k
on Dec 21, 2016 at 10:09:12 pm

Hello,
Please excuse this rudimentary question as I am just beginning to work more heavily with 4k footage.

I am working in Premiere 2017 with old mid 2013 macbook so I am making proxies for manageable editing.

When I make proxies via Media Encoder, my proxies come out as large as the original 4k files that I shot. Is this a problem? Will these large proxy file sizes make it harder on my computer/ dramatically slow down the Premiere workflow as I begin editing? I thought the idea of making proxies is to make more managable file sizes? I understand that NLE software requires better codecs for optimum workflow but will file size be part of the equation? Are my large proxy file sizes essentially slowing down Premiere the way my source 4k footage would?

Additionally, since my macbook pro is old, it takes a long time to make just one proxy (about 2-3 hours). Are there specs that I can export my footage with in media encoder that will expedite the process? As of right now I am exporting my 4k footage to Dnxsq 1080p

Thanks for your help in advance!

Return to posts index

Chris Wright
Re: Proxy question regarding media encoder and proxy sizes and 4k
on Dec 22, 2016 at 7:16:42 am

if you had highly compressed 4k, then the slightly less compressed proxy might be a little bigger. the main difference is the ability to scrub and play the timeline smoother. Another option, depending on the codec, if you used smart rendering it would greatly decrease rendering time.

https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/smart-rendering.html
http://blogs.adobe.com/kevinmonahan/2012/10/11/smart-rendering-in-premiere-...

Return to posts index

Jake Frader