ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Another newbie output question- sorry...

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Doug O'Connor
Another newbie output question- sorry...
on Dec 14, 2016 at 8:17:10 pm

Hi ,

I am making a long overdue transition from Avid, and I am trying to mostly find my own way.
My apologies, as I am sure this info is somewhere in the archives.

I have a film that I will master in 1080/60, but by project; sequence setting is much smaller- 960 by 720. Frame rate matches. This is how the project came to me, and I did not pay it much attention.
Will this impact my export? What I plan to do is render to ProRes HQ 1920 by 1080 then send it to a colorist.
When exported, does the render go around any sequence settings and just go between source media and what has been selected for output?

I am sorry to say that after a few decades, I am stuck in the Avid mindset. I am trying to shake it!
Thanks in advance for your patience and your insight.

Doug
Z Post

Return to posts index

Jon Doughtie
Re: Another newbie output question- sorry...
on Dec 14, 2016 at 8:41:29 pm

Already footage in the 960x720 project? If not, can it and make a new sequence, cutting at full rez.

Footage already in there? Were they cutting with proxy files for some reason?

Full rez footage resized in the sequence? Make a new sequence, copy/paste footage over, or change existing sequence settings to match.

Something other than these options? Then I am just confused and deranged. Wait - I'm confused and deranged anyway. Never mind.

System:
Dell Precision T7600 (x2)
Win 7 64-bit
32GB RAM
Adobe CC 2015.02 (as of 6/2016)
256GB SSD system drive
4 internal media drives RAID 5
Typically cutting short form from HD MP4 and P2 MXF.

Return to posts index

Chris Wright
on Dec 14, 2016 at 8:42:46 pm

well,
"Set to Frame Size" and "Scale to Frame Size" are different