Premiere pro and MXF video files

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Michael Aghy
Premiere pro and MXF video files
on Nov 18, 2016 at 6:22:50 am
Last Edited By Michael Aghy on Nov 18, 2016 at 9:44:25 am

Hello,

This is my first time posting. I see variations of my question and I tried several of the solutions but nothing has worked for me (software and hardware details below). I’ll try to give as many details as possible, hopefully someone has been through this and can help me out.

I’m a freelance editor and I was shipped a USB 3.0 drive with about 500GB of footage in MXF Format.
I believe the full file structures were fully copied over. ( http://imgur.com/a/B6rvu ) Each video file also has an XML/XMP and some have BIM file. The videos are 3840 × 2160 pixels.

I’m not sure which camera it was shot on, but there is a folder called “Sony” so guessing it was some type of Sony camera.

I can import the files into Premiere just fine, either using media browser or just dragging and dropping. And I can scrub through them once placed in a timeline. However, the videos have a lot of lag, they skip and if I try playing them within the timeline, they aren’t smooth at all. They skip, get stuck, etc… Not possible to edit like this.

I read that MXF files should play alright in Premiere but that hasn’t been my experience.

I’ve tried setting quality to 1/4th or 1/8th quality. But still bad. I’ve dragged them into a timeline and let premiere automatically set the sequence settings ( http://imgur.com/a/d9iSW ). I’ve also modified the setting to 1920 x 1080 since that’s will likely be my deliverable. Again, still bad.