ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Embedding time code in an exported MP4

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Don Stroud
Embedding time code in an exported MP4
on Nov 2, 2016 at 3:00:02 pm

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to the Adobe Premiere world. I'm running the new Creative Cloud on my new Windows 7 PC.

I'm working with a composer who is requesting a MOV with an embedded time code track. Creating the MOV is going to be an issue in and of itself, but the time code embed is something I'm not familiar with.

I've been scouring the web for info and/or examples, but so far nothing seems to be lining up with my searches. Anyone out there have some helpful tips?

Thanks in advance!

Don

Return to posts index

Jon Doughtie
Re: Embedding time code in an exported MP4
on Nov 2, 2016 at 3:29:40 pm

The MOV file should be no problem at all.

When you say embedded TC, do you mean a visible time code in the lower third screen. Should it represent the TC of individual shots, or over all TC for a sequence? How does the composer plan to reference it?

System:
Dell Precision T7600 (x2)
Win 7 64-bit
32GB RAM
Adobe CC 2015.02 (as of 6/2016)
256GB SSD system drive
4 internal media drives RAID 5
Typically cutting short form from HD MP4 and P2 MXF.

Return to posts index

Don Stroud
on Nov 2, 2016 at 3:33:23 pm

No, I know how to the do the burn-in timecode. What I'm looking to do is embed a SMPTE-style track in the export. This composer wants to sync everything up correctly.

Since I posted my original question, I've found something online that said Premiere Pro automatically embeds timecode in a WAV. That's great, but... in looking over my audio export options, I don't see WAV as a choice.

Sigh. Anyone out there know what to do?

Thanks.

Don

Don
---------------------------------------------------------------------------