ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

Is Adobe Support Lying to me? "this project contained a sequence that could not be opened no sequence preview preset file or codec could be associated with this sequence type"

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brandon DavidsIs Adobe Support Lying to me? "this project contained a sequence that could not be opened no sequence preview preset file or codec could be associated with this sequence type"
by on Sep 21, 2016 at 2:46:17 am

So, I have been working with premiere for over a year now and have made 100 youtube videos and feel like I know what I'm doing. I'm also a software engineer with 25 years experience, so I think I have a decent idea about how software works, files and the file system, but I don't know how Premiere is coded at all.

I received the following error when opening a project I have been working on:

"premiere this project contained a sequence that could not be opened no sequence preview preset file or codec could be associated with this sequence type."

I received this error a couple weeks ago and deleted my cache folder(s) and was able to get into the project but all of the clips on the timeline were red, indicating missing media. After some googling and reading some adobe articles, I did some random combination of uninstall and using the Adobe cleaning tool and deleting my cache folders and somehow the project loaded properly. I also saw a little window after reinstall and login about installing codecs, and based on what I read, I believe it was a codec issue. I don't know why Adobe is destroying my codecs or licenses for them and I haven't installed any other software such as codec packs or media players etc...