ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Switching to Premiere Pro from Vegas Pro

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Derek CharlesSwitching to Premiere Pro from Vegas Pro
by on Sep 18, 2016 at 8:33:38 am

I've been using Vegas Pro for 5 years -
I am used to using Adobe Lightroom -
I wonder should I switch over to using both Adobe platforms and leave Vegas behind?
Are there any major differences pros cons between switching to Premiere over Vegas?

Return to posts index

Alex UdellRe: Switching to Premiere Pro from Vegas Pro
by on Sep 18, 2016 at 3:17:13 pm

I'll always welcome someone to the Premiere Pro family.

Without knowing specifically about you....

I'd say industry adoption of PPro is a good reason to know it.

This means, you can get jobs where it is used already.

and it means you can easily interact with others who use the Adobe echo system.

Those are good things.

Because Adobe is so big in this space, it's an easy case to make to say....it's valuable to know...

where I don't think I could make the case that you'd miss a lot of career opportunities because you didn't know Sony Vegas.

As to the technical ins and outs...I don't know enough about Vegas to answer. I know there are some common things that people come from Vegas miss when they move to PPro....

automatic transition creation when clips are overlapped...

non destructive clip objects in the edit..meaning when you remove a clip that is splicing another clip.....the
underlying bounds of the remaining clip object are restored...Premiere would make you trim the remaining clips back out.

Those are two that get asked frequently here by Vegas users.

Some questions for you....

1) do you feel like Vegas doesn't meet your or your clients needs technically?
2) do you feel like the Vegas software is being developed at a pace or in a direction that meets the needs of you or your clients?