ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Horizontal Banding In Footage

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brittany JonesHorizontal Banding In Footage
by on Aug 17, 2016 at 8:29:56 pm

I'm using Premiere Pro CS6, and I have a short clip where I have added two different shots side by side. Each are fine when played by themselves, or if one is disabled while the other plays, but when they play together, I get dark, flickering horizontal banding. I can't seem to find anything out there that helps - I've tried grain, noise, de-interlacing....nothing seems to be helping.

Here is a frame without the striping:

Here is a frame with the striping:

It's very subtle from the images, but it's very obvious and distracting with video. Any help you can give would be great! I'm just starting out in video production. Thanks!

Return to posts index

Duke SwedenRe: Horizontal Banding In Footage
by on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:10:56 am

Does it actually "flicker"? There is a plug in called Re:Vision DeFlicker that might help.

Go here and watch the demo video. It will probably show you whether it might help or not. I'm thinking maybe not since it's not the video that has the banding, but what you're doing with the video that's causing it. Anyway, check out the demo vid if you want.
http://revisionfx.com/products/deflicker/

Return to posts index

Brittany JonesRe: Horizontal Banding In Footage
by on Aug 18, 2016 at 3:17:15 am

The bands themselves flicker. I forgot to mention I tried the field option for flicker removal and that didn't do anything either. I might just have to nix the design, but thought I would try here (I can't pony up the $250 for DEFlicker for this project :p ).

Return to posts index

by on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:08:03 am