ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

Horrific Static Throughout Entire Audio Recording

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jamie KoselukHorrific Static Throughout Entire Audio Recording
by on Aug 15, 2016 at 7:17:52 pm

Okay, so I am relatively new to audio editing. I just filmed a wedding and I purchased a new wireless mic for the ceremony. Upon reviewing the footage, the entire clip is completely ruined with static. The audio can be heard if you increase the volume levels a crazy amount, but thus increases the static volume as well.

I obviously can't re-record it, that's not an option. I have tried searching this topic non stop for hours with no luck. Is there any program, Adobe or otherwise, that can fix this crazy static issue? The static is throughout the whole clip so it's very difficult to pick a spot to "fix." I know it won't be perfect, but I at least want to hear the vocals or else the entire ceremony is ruined :( Any suggestions at all, please??

Any and all advice is appreciated. If it cannot be fixed, can I at least get some advice on what to do in the future?

Return to posts index

Dave LaRondeRe: Horrific Static Throughout Entire Audio Recording
by on Aug 15, 2016 at 8:28:40 pm

Adobe Audition has a noise reduction tool. You sample a short section of the audio with just the noise, and the tool will reduce it. I won't eliminate it.

I think you already know the answer to the "what to do in the future" question -- work with a new piece of gear to make sure you know how to operate it before you have to use it for real.

Dave LaRonde
Promotion Producer
KGAN (CBS) & KFXA (Fox) Cedar Rapids, IA

Return to posts index

Duke SwedenRe: Horrific Static Throughout Entire Audio Recording
by on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:12:26 pm