ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Exposure question

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Duke SwedenExposure question
by on Aug 14, 2016 at 9:09:29 pm

I put this in Cinematography but after 3 days not one response. The Adobe forums seem to be the only active ones, so I thought I repost this here and hopefully one of my many mentors will jump in.
*************************************************************************************************************************************************
I'm just an amateur and I don't have a fancy lighting studio or outdoor equipment but the answer to my question might help others.

OK, when shooting a scene that will end up dark and moody, should one try to get exposure as close as possible to that look in camera, in other words underexpose to get the look I want before the final color grade, or should you try to get as bright an image as possible short of overexposure, and darken in post?

It seems to me that when I darken in post I get a lot of noise, even in the brighter areas. I'm using a Panasonic G7, btw, and I'm not entering anything at Cannes this year, if you catch my drift ;-)

Return to posts index

Chris PaulRe: Exposure question
by on Aug 14, 2016 at 10:55:26 pm

Definitely get as close as you can to the look you want in camera. Amazing things can be done in post but it is unwise to rely on it.... Particularly as I do not think your camera shoots RAW video. If you do the look in camera you can see if you are getting what want as you shoot.

Chris Paul
POV

Return to posts index

Duke SwedenRe: Exposure question
by on Aug 15, 2016 at 1:11:17 am

Hey Chris, thanks for responding. No, the G7 doesn't shoot RAW. I'm shooting in 4K (100mbps). The problem it seems, is that when I do underexpose I don't get solid blacks, it's very blocky, not smooth.