ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Click Anywhere in Timeline to Move Playhead (CTI) and Scroll to Zoom

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
D.j. MonopoliClick Anywhere in Timeline to Move Playhead (CTI) and Scroll to Zoom
by on Jul 15, 2016 at 10:52:25 am
Last Edited By D.j. Monopoli on Jul 15, 2016 at 10:58:58 am

So I'm a hardcore Vegas editor and have gotten to the point where I can fly through edits with it. I've been finding myself in Premiere for one reason or another more than I would like to lately which is fine. However, I've gotten so used to Vegas that editing in Premiere feels extremely clunky and it slows me down to the point where I just can't wait to get back in Vegas. I was hoping I could change some settings to make editing in it more familiar to me. So far I've changed splitting ("add edit" keyboard shortcut in Premiere which is ctrl+k by default) to the "s" key, but there's 2 other things that really bother me about Premiere:

1. Moving the playhead: In Premiere you have to left-click the time ruler to move the playhead (CTI) position whereas in Vegas you just left-click anywhere in the timeline to move it. In Vegas I naturally click on the clip I'm editing to move it and I can't seem to break that habit.

2. Scroll to zoom: Currently in Premiere mouse scrolling moves your position in the timeline and alt+scroll zooms. I would love to switch these commands so scrolling zooms and alt+scroll moves the position in the timeline.

Any ideas how to change this stuff? It would make my life 100 times easier.

Appreciate you reading and thanks in advance!

-DJ Monopoli
TeraBrite: http://YouTube.com/TeraBrite

Return to posts index

Joshua JacksonRe: Click Anywhere in Timeline to Move Playhead (CTI) and Scroll to Zoom
by on Jul 22, 2016 at 8:30:27 pm

As a long-time Vegas user, I have the same irritations.
JJ

Return to posts index