ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Is anyone else tearing their hair out over audio panning?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Blaise DourosIs anyone else tearing their hair out over audio panning?
by on Jun 29, 2016 at 6:14:47 pm

Okay. I've been using Premiere since version 3.0. Not Premiere Pro 3.0; Premiere 3.0 back in the 90s. I am not a newbie at this.

So why the $#*@ can't I figure out the audio panning in the latest couple of releases of Premiere Pro CC? WHAT CHANGED?

I'm bringing in media from a Sony FS7, which has 8 audio channels, and a Canon XA20, which has a stereo pair. I'm modifying the FS7 audio channels to only use Channel 1, which is where my lav mike is. I create a multicam sequence, which puts the FS7 audio on a Mono channel, as it should, and the XA20 audio on a stereo channel, as it should.

The FS7 audio on Channel 1 is panned to the left by default. Great, I think, let me jump into the clip mixer and pan it to the center. The clip mixer has no pan controls. That's weird. I go to the track mixer: no pan controls. I enable the pan controls on the track panel. Great! There's the panner! Which doesn't work. It snaps back to the left anytime I move it.

I've tried creating multicam sequences using Mono, Adaptive, and Stereo presets. Same result. Always to the left, can't pan it.

I can't pan this effing audio no matter what control I use; if I try to pan it in the main sequence from the multicam sequence, it just diminishes in volume and stays on the left. Is this something to do with Adaptive vs Mono vs Stereo vs 5.1 tracks? Whatever the problem is, it's a stupid problem, because it never WAS a problem before this year's release. Does this sound familiar to anyone?