ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

Best intermediate video format for editing

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Rob HammondBest intermediate video format for editing
by on Nov 12, 2015 at 7:07:05 pm

Hi,

I am fairly new to video editing on modern hardware, but impressed with the level of knowledge available on the forum wondered if I could please ask what may seem a rather basic question to the more professionals amongst us.

I use Go Pro Hero 3 and Hero 4 cameras to capture video in anything from 1080p upto 2.7k at 50fps and then edit the video in Premiere Pro CC 2015 on a MAC computer I have made specifically for editing.

As I guess everyone would, I would like to spend more time editing and less time waiting for rendering. For example in my current project I have applied the Premiere Pro Go Pro Hero 3+ 2.7k effect to a forty second clip which is the only thing in my timeline/sequence. Even with my preview window set to 1/4 quality the movement on playback is intermittent and very jerky so I have no choice but to render, which for the 1330 frames take around 35 minutes.

The media the clip is taken from is a 54GB file which I have obtained by running the original camera created MP4 file through Go Pro Studio Professional and converting it to cineform format which I understand is less compressed and much more friendly for editing packages like Premiere.