ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Moving from FCPX to Premiere Pro, some questions

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Joshua PearsonMoving from FCPX to Premiere Pro, some questions
by on May 28, 2015 at 11:25:25 pm

Moving from FCPX to PPro... pros and cons... long post.

Hard to put all this into words, so bear with me. After using FCP7 since it first came out, I have been using FCPX almost exclusively for the past two years, and have cut a few short form and one big long for feature doc on it. For all of its foibles, I enjoy it.

Now for various reasons I need to do a job on Premiere. Ironically I learned to digitally edit in about 1993 (after cutting on 3/4" tape for a few years previously) on Premiere with a Radius Video Vision card, then a Media 100 card, then Media 100 software, until FCP7 came along. Never realy touched Avid, but played with it recently.

So now I've come full circle, and have been re-learning Premiere which of course is not that hard coming from heavy FCP7 use, but I must say FCPX has spoiled me for two main reasons:

1) Without realizing it, I fell in love with keyword collections. I guess the parallel in PPro, as it was in FCP7, is to build SLX sequences, but they are much more cumbersome than keyword collections. So i dug deeper and am liking using markers and the marker panel. But still very different from keyword collections. One big request would be to select multiple sequences and see ALL the markers, and search them globally... can this be done?