ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Best way to add Fade up Title Cards to video - in Premiere or import from Aftereffects

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
TImi BooseBest way to add Fade up Title Cards to video - in Premiere or import from Aftereffects
by on Apr 4, 2015 at 2:14:39 am

I'm a graphic designer and have been asked to add some titles onto a video.
While my main programs are Illustrator and Photoshop, I am a little familiar with Aftereffects but this seems simple enough to do in Premiere.
I was given a video with occasional title cards on a back black background.
However they want the title cards to have slightly different wordings and animate the text - pretty simply - probably just fade-ups and such .

My idea is basically to fit the new title cards over the old ones - just having a bit of an issue figuring how in Premiere. Or is it best to do each in AE and import it in.

I've done it a little of both ways and cant decide which way to go - please forgive me for asking such a dumb question but any advice on which is the best way would be good to know from you experts out there.

I keep going back and forth between both ways and it's causing me total confusion - I need to take a break!

Return to posts index

Oki PienandoroRe: Best way to add Fade up Title Cards to video - in Premiere or import from Aftereffects
by on Apr 5, 2015 at 2:17:02 pm

Since Premiere CC 2014.2, the best way to do it is to use dynamic link between Premiere and AE.
Before this version, a very heavily animated composition in AE simply wouldn't playback in realtime in Premiere dynamic link in many machine.
But right know, you can do a render to that AE comp in premiere with your codec preference (Cineform or DNxHD), thus allowing you to preview/playback in realtime. And you can revert back to original comp with ease (wasn't possible directly in past Premiere version)