ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Basic Edit & Keyboard Customization ??s

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Paul Hartel
Basic Edit & Keyboard Customization ??s
on Sep 29, 2010 at 10:44:51 pm

OMG. Help.

These will seem very simple, but I'm going to type them up anyway in the hope that the answers will serve not just me, but others engaged in the same effort.

To begin (and in my own defense by way of excuse) I AM a professional editor, expert in Avid and Final Cut. I watched the Premiere Pro training (CS5) on Lynda.com, but that's most of the extent of my experience with this. I have been hired to re-edit a feature originally cut by the director on Premiere Pro CS3 (on a PC.) He's upgraded to CS5. He's got 2 video tracks, and 24 audio tracks.

Here are my questions, in no particular order.

I want to customize the keyboard.

1.) Does Premiere let you customize the same way Avid and FCP do?

2.) Can I pull up a keyboard image, and drag and drop icons, etc, to customize key functions?

3.) Is there a "mark clip" option? Where is it? Can I keyboard it to one keystroke?

3a.)What about Go To In, Out, Clear In, Out, etc. Same deal: I don't want any Control H, Option H, whatever, I want one key = one action. I'd love to set this up visually, dragging and dropping commands on keys; if I can't, and I'm beginning to suspect I can't, I'd like the next simplest way to get this done.

4.) Is there any way to mark In and Out and then CUT (Ripple Delete in PP) or LIFT, ALL tracks at once, without having to individually click-select every infernal clip in the timeline tracks?

4a. Is there a way to add an edit (cut) to all tracks at once without having to use the razor tool to individually cut each clip?

4b.) Is there a way to SYNC LOCK all tracks, so the edit doesn't slip out of sync? How?