ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

HDR Documentation?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Brian SarfattyHDR Documentation?
by on Jun 4, 2016 at 11:22:26 pm

Hello! I am trying to find good documentation for the new HDR options in Premiere. I've been on Lynda.com, and seen a youtube clip posted by Adobe, and looked at Premiere help file. Also searched on Creative Cow. Basically all the documentation and forum posts seems to presume you understand how the heck HDR works, and I've been able to find no tutorial that goes in depth enough for me to get how to work the HDR controls. I'm an editor, not a colorist or photographer, and my only understand of HDR is that it helps even out exposure when I take pictures on my iPhone in harsh lighting.

Basically, I have footage, shot ProRes422HQ. It was shut at the end of the day, outside, the light is behind the characters, so the background is blown out but the faces in the foreground are too dark.

I want to see if the HDR feature can help even out the image, like the HDR feature does on the iPhone.

Can anyone explain to me if the HDR features will help me? And if so, can someone provide an explanation to someone who has no idea how the heck HDR works? Or at least point me in the direction to better documentation so I can teach myself?

Return to posts index

Chris WrightRe: HDR Documentation?
by on Jun 5, 2016 at 12:05:56 am

as far as a know, the HDR support comes from the scopes feature and Lumetri pops open a new HDR adjustment. As to if it will recover highlights that aren't there, I don't think so.
HDR is similar to RAW as it has whites and blacks that can be recovered. If you didn't record in HDR or RAW, you won't magically get recovered although the tool may work similary to the effect called Shadow/highlight which makes a more pleasant looking gamma adjustment than curves.

Return to posts index