ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

What is rendering? Is it necessary to render the work area?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Matteo BadinWhat is rendering? Is it necessary to render the work area?
by on May 26, 2016 at 3:00:13 pm

Hello everyone, newbie here. I found out that as I press the enter key while I'm working in Premiere Pro CS5, it "renders" my footage. I'd like to know what rendering is and, above all, do I need to "render the work area" before exporting my project on DVD? My footage isn't so short, so the rendering will last hours.

Return to posts index

Chris BorjisRe: What is rendering? Is it necessary to render the work area?
by on May 26, 2016 at 4:19:08 pm

If you're getting smooth playback without rendering then you probably don't need to.

If you're getting choppy playback when f/x are applied and or a client is watching
you want it smooth...so you render.

If you have a feature length movie and have difficulty getting it exported
in a timely manor, then you can set the sequence for example to use the prores (mac only)
codec and render sections until the entire sequence is rendered, then do an export
very quickly by selecting "use render files."

Return to posts index

Matteo BadinRe: What is rendering? Is it necessary to render the work area?
by on May 27, 2016 at 1:46:30 pm

Thank you!

Return to posts index

Alex UdellRe: What is rendering? Is it necessary to render the work area?
by on May 26, 2016 at 4:20:23 pm

Hi....

when you assemble material together on a timeline, and any kind of effect is used or images are somehow layered....

the computer will attempt assemble and play back the material as close to as real time as pssoible.

Sometimes the material, as you have it arranged to layered is too complex for the computer to assemble on the fly...