ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Scaling a sequence up to 4K

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Dominick SantiseScaling a sequence up to 4K
by on May 16, 2016 at 2:01:32 pm

Hello. I tried finding reference to this but found nothing that hit the issue, so my apologies if this is something basic that I am missing. I am new-ish to Premiere so bare with any novice remarks.

Working on a title treatment. Been working in 1920 x 1080 as that is what was given to me at the start of the project. Finished project and sent off export. Turns out the final production is actually 4096 x 1728.

I realize under most circumstances I would be hosed. Nothing has to be said regarding the "DON"T SCALE UP" logic. I am an image/photoshop pro. I realize this works the same. Luckily the overall look is super grainy and graphic. Crossing my fingers that it does not fall apart once rendered. That said, I can't simply copy and paste into a new sequence and scale to fit for two reasons.

1. Not all the clips are the same size. The source material is from various formats and blown up and distorted, etc. Unless I am not setting it properly (if you can set preferences for this I have missed it), but scale to fit is pretty uniform in how it handles clips, correct? It fits it to the best possible size match, regardless of the setting in the original sequence? i.e. If the clip in a smaller sequence was proportional to the sequence but was blown up 120% and it was copied into a larger aspect ratio (still proportional) and scaled to fit it would be scaled to fit the aspect ratio in the new sequence, not proportionally larger to match the 120% from the original, correct?

2. That said, the second reason is that the aspect ratio proportions are different from what it was created in. So even when I hit scale to fit, it only scales it to the height, leaving black bars on the sides.