ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Stalling on playback of MXF files

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Andy EvansStalling on playback of MXF files
by on May 3, 2016 at 7:14:29 pm

I have recently installed Premiere pro on my 2010 mac pro to replace FCP7
Previously FCP 7 had been dealing fine with native mxd files but Premiere is providing me with all sorts of problems. Im constantly having to wait for it to catch up on playback and audio drops out at points playing a longer sequence.
Im quite new to this programme so would appreciate any advice at troubleshooting my system
Im running a ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB graphics card (wondering if this is the issue) 2.8 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon processor and 10gb of ram
Thank you in advance
Andy

Return to posts index

Chris BorjisRe: Stalling on playback of MXF files
by on May 4, 2016 at 12:20:25 am

3 things come to mind:

10gb of system ram is barely cutting it...16gb seems to be the bare minimum these days.

Do you have OpenCL enabled in project settings...that might help.

Most importantly, what drive are you playing the mxf files from?

Return to posts index

Andy EvansRe: Stalling on playback of MXF files
by on May 4, 2016 at 12:50:38 am

Hey Chris manny thanks for the reply That is curious about the ram....on final cut it was more than enough to play the mxf files