ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Workflow Question — Multiple Resolutions, ideal sequence settings?

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Jesuit LewisWorkflow Question — Multiple Resolutions, ideal sequence settings?
by on Apr 22, 2016 at 7:06:06 am

Hi there,
Sorry for what I'm sure is a stupid question that has been asked before, but there are is A LOT of conflicting information out there and I wanted to ask the experts. I'm new to Premiere Pro CC 2015 (from FCP7), am shooting a project with footage from multiple cameras and multiple resolutions — 4K, 1080p and some 'archive' material from old iPhones and other lower resolutions . . . I'm just trying to understand what is happening under the hood of Premiere Pro. The delivery is most likely going to be in 1080p but I want to leave open the possibility of something higher for the future. Should I be editing in a 4K timeline and scaling the lower resolutions up to match it, and exporting whatever my deliverable is at the end? Or start working in a 1080p timeline to begin with? What happens for instance to the native 1080p that was "scaled up" in the 4K timeline then exported back to deliverable at 1080p? Is premiere pro doing fancy math at the end export to understand all of that, or is that 1080p footage being resampled/scaled twice? Or if I zoom in (or stabilize) a 4K shot in the 4K timeline losing some sharpness in the process, will that become irrelevant once exported to 1080p? What workflow has worked best for you guys? THANKS for any info!

Return to posts index

Alex UdellRe: Workflow Question — Multiple Resolutions, ideal sequence settings?
by on Apr 22, 2016 at 3:39:17 pm

hmmmm....

does any ftg of primary story content come at a majority resolution?

I dont think PPro is so smart to do sort of double check conversion up and down on export like you are suggesting.