ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Creative Cloud Debate

Elements versus Pro

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Shannon BedfordElements versus Pro
by on Apr 21, 2016 at 1:25:03 pm

I am a Premiere Pro user. I'm about to take a 6 month contract with a company who has Adobe Premiere Elements which I've never used. I'm hoping to persuade the employer that it's worth upgrading to Premiere Pro - preferably CC.
What advantages can I tell the employer about to support my argument?
I will be doing very fast turnover instructional videos, nothing fancy.

Return to posts index

Alex UdellRe: Elements versus Pro
by on Apr 21, 2016 at 2:45:16 pm

Hi....

The best argument you could make is that PPro is rapidly becoming a standard, which means more people know it.

It probably has better format support than Elements for both input and export so depending on all the places footage is coming from, and all the places you want the work to go, it may be a more robust choice.

Are there any examples of their current work you can share?

Seeing what they do might be helpful.

Knowing that you can better teak colors quickly and precisely (lumetri) to make the final result better (let's say, make the sky bluer) could be a good practical example.

The hard part for them will be that it's a ongoing cost as opposed to the one time purchase they already made.

hth,

Alex Udell
Editing, Motion Graphics, and Visual FX
Let's Connect on Linkedin
Examples: Retail Automotive Motion Graphics Spots
Example: Customer Facing Explainer Video
Example: Infotainment & Package editorial

Return to posts index

Gary MilliganRe: Elements versus Pro
by on Apr 21, 2016 at 5:00:05 pm

To add to what Alex has said... you'll also have much better audio post-production capabilities.

Good luck!

Gary

Return to posts index

Shannon BedfordRe: Elements versus Pro
by on Apr 23, 2016 at 12:58:32 am