ADOBE PREMIERE PRO: Tutorials Forum Articles Podcasts Basics Forum Creative Cloud Debate

Oversaturated colors in Premiere Pro - P3 Gamut

COW Forums : Adobe Premiere Pro

<< PREVIOUS   •   FAQ   •   VIEW ALL   •   PRINT   •   NEXT >>
Wojtek TymickiOversaturated colors in Premiere Pro - P3 Gamut
by on Mar 11, 2016 at 10:08:13 pm

Couple months ago I bought new iMac 2015 27'' Retina. This new model comes with wider color range DCI P3. As an amateur videographer I had no idea it might affect my workflow of editing my videos. Long story short all the footage I import into the premiere pro (I run CS6) is slightly oversaturated. Since premiere is not handling any color profile I assumed it is the p3 gamut messing up my project. I tested the same footage one newest version of premiere CC 2015 hoping that maybe adobe handled that issue but to my surprise I found the footage to be the same, oversaturated.

I also do color grading in premiere but since all colors in premiere are oversaturated I might as well give up on that task since is seems to be futile. i could continue editing in premiere but i would have to give up on coloring in premiere.

Is there any solution to that oversaturation issue? Any patch? Trick? Please!

I am attaching screenshot from premiere pro (top) and quicktime (bottom) - quicktime is the only player handling colors properly

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/8043727/color_test.jpg

Thanks for your opinions and help!

Return to posts index

Tero AhlforsRe: Oversaturated colors in Premiere Pro - P3 Gamut
by on Mar 12, 2016 at 7:20:42 am

Quicktime is the most unreliable player when it comes to color so it would be kinda suprising if this would be the case here. You need to calibrate your display to sRGB/rec709 unless you are actually doing work in P3 space.

Return to posts index

Wojtek TymickiRe: Oversaturated colors in Premiere Pro - P3 Gamut
by on Mar 12, 2016 at 9:33:47 am